Holistic Health

I found this weeks seminar very interesting. They spoke about acknowledging trauma and the first steps to Traditional Healing. I wanted to take an activity that they did, and apply it to myself.

Anna introduced and showed an activity that uses the Traditional Medicine Wheel. I was able to look at each quadrant and visually see how I view myself emotionally, mentally, physically, and spiritually. This was very interesting to see right in front of me. It opened my eyes to see that I should put more emphasis on who I am spiritually. I can also work in order to better myself physically, emotionally, and mentally. I want to work on remaining balanced and creating a holistic level of well being.  I think this is an activity that everyone should take part in.

I additionally looked further into the First Nations Perspective on Health and Wellness. This is a visual is a tool for First Nations Communities that encompasses their perspective on Health and Wellness. The goal is to create a shared understanding of holistic health and wellness. They emphasize that this model can easily be adapted and customized as needed, it is not static.

  • The Centre Circle represents individual human beings.
  • The Second Circle illustrates the importance of Mental, Emotional, Spiritual and Physical facets of a healthy, well, and balanced life.
  • The Third Circle represents the overarching values that support and uphold wellness: Respect, Wisdom, Responsibility, and Relationships.
  • The Fourth Circle depicts the people that surround us and the places from which we come: Nations, Family, Community, and Land.
  • The Fifth Circle depicts the Social, Cultural, Economic and Environmental determinants of our health and well-being.
  • The people who make up the Outer Circle represent the FNHA Vision of strong children, families, elders, and people in communities.

“Wellness belongs to every human being and their reflection of this perspective will be unique”

– Ms. S

I want to hear your thoughts!

