Shania Sonen or Shania Twain?

img_6446

All this talk about digital identity has led me to question, “how do people see me on the internet?”I looked myself up using DuckDuckGo. The very first thing that popped up was an article about one of my country tours that was here in Regina. For those of you who attended, I hope you enjoyed the show! All kidding aside, I think it is very humorous that the very first thing that popped up was an announcement about the country icon, Shania Twain.

screen-shot-2017-02-18-at-1-08-43-pm

Besides a whole bunch of Shania Twain articles, pretty much all that came up about myself was my Twitter, my private Instagram account, my Facebook, my Pinterest, my WordPress, and articles that I was mentioned in briefly during University and High school. All the accounts that I use for my personal life, are all locked and I intend to keep them this way, especially when entering my career as a teacher. I was very happy that there wasn’t a single negative thing, or anything that overly misrepresented who I am.

screen-shot-2017-02-18-at-12-20-55-pmScreen Shot 2017-02-18 at 12.16.09 PM.png

I have recently made the transition to using my Twitter for myself as a professional. For this reason, it is my one account in which the privacy settings are turned off. All of the tweets I make relate to who I want to be as a teacher. As I slowly explore the world of Twitter, my followers and those who follow me are also people using Twitter for the same purpose as myself. I am so excited that I can already see the impact Twitter has made on me as an educator.

screen-shot-2017-02-18-at-12-15-19-pm

I am extremely lucky that we have also been exploring how to create a blog using WordPress. I was able to put together a quick glance at who I am as a teacher, all on an online platform. The link from my blog was something that I included when I was applying for future teaching positions. I am able to connect with others, keep them up to date with my posts, and present my digital identity in a professional way.

I found a few other articles that will help me with my own digital identity. The first is “How to Improve Your Professional Digital Identity,” and the second is “8 Steps to Creating a Digital Identity.” These two articles state that I need to first understand who I am offline, in order to create who I am online. I can summarize the two articles by simply using one quote:

AT SOME POINT IN YOUR LIFE, YOU’RE PROBABLY GOING TO GET GOOGLED, AND THE INFORMATION THAT PULLS UP MIGHT AFFECT WHAT OTHERS THINK OF YOU”

-DANIEL SOLOVE

I conclude this blog post with one simple picture. I put together a Face Swap of myself and Shania Twain that, in a way, represents who I am when I google myself. I know that my identity online will not be a complete accurate representation of who I really am, however, I am going use the tools that I have in order to control it as best as I can!

screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-10-38-22-pm

-Ms. S

4 thoughts on “Shania Sonen or Shania Twain?

I want to hear your thoughts!

