When I Grow up I want to be like Ms. Frizzle

Photo credit: Clipart-library.com

“Take chances, make mistakes, get messy!” – Ms. Frizzle

Fasten your seat belts everyone, we are about to explore The Magic School Bus! Growing up I had the privilege of learning from the one and only, Ms. Frizzle! She took me through the solar system, the world of dinosaurs, the concept of flight, how the body works and SO much more. As a die hard Magic School bus fan there are so many things that I will forever love about this show. This article lists 9 Things About “The Magic School Bus” That You’ll Always Cherish, and I can relate to it all too well! I can’t help but to sing along whenever I hear the theme song start to play!

During my Internship I created a Ms. Frizzle costume for Halloween! I went to Value Village and bought a blue dress, cut out a felt solar system, and hot glue gunned it all together. I was so happy with how it turned out, and felt like I stepped into the shoes of Ms. Frizzle for a full day! There was one downfall..  I was in a Kindergarten classroom and almost all of my students had no idea who I was! Naturally, I read them a book and showed them a few videos to give them a little bit of an idea! This broke my heart, and I am now looking forward to bringing the world of The Magic School Bus and Ms. Frizzle into my future classroom. I even have a costume to wear for the rest of my career! 🙂

The Magic School Bus originally started as a book, and came out as a TV show in 1994. They created four seasons, and a total of 52 episodes. Recently, Netflix announced that they are releasing a new and improved version known as “The Magic School Bus Rides Again.” Ms. Frizzle will be played by the one and only Kate McKinnon from Saturday Night Live. I found a little bit of information about her in “Kate McKinnon to Voice Ms. Frizzle in Netflix’s Magic School Bus Revival.” This new and improved show is going to include new tools and technology in order to capture the attention of todays generation. A few articles I found about this are: “Buckle Up: ‘The Magic School Bus Rides Again’ is coming to Netflix,” “When Ms. Frizzle Returns, What Will She Say About Modern Education,” and “Can A New ‘Magic School Bus’ With Help From Netflix, Make America’s Kids Love Science?.” I couldn’t find a specific date for the release of this new and modern version, however, I will patiently be waiting for this day. To say that I have high expectations would be an understatement!

This show can be incorporated into the classroom in many ways. There are shows for your students to watch and books for your students to read. There are also interactive activities online, lesson plans, science experiments, and other classroom activities.

I loved taking the time to explore the old Magic School Bus, as well as the future Magic School Bus. It took me all the way back to my childhood! The lessons that Ms. Frizzle taught her students are pretty much impossible to teach, but hey, a girl can dream!

Credit: giphy.com

Have a magical week!

– Ms. S

One thought on “When I Grow up I want to be like Ms. Frizzle

  1. taylorharder says:

    I almost cried reading this – tears of joy. I LOVE Ms. Frizzle but you are right – nobody seems to know who she is anymore! Even though she’s fictional I have no shame in saying she is one of my favorite educators. (I like the woman who voices her too – Lily Tomlin is a great actor and comedian!)

    I use her famous catchphrase in my Educational Philosophy. That show made learning fun for me, and that is exactly how I want it to be for the kids I teach. So happy to see we share a common role model.

    Thanks so much for this! Just a helpful sidenote: All of the Magic Schoolbus episodes are (or were, a short while ago) on Netflix. So pop the TV on in class and show ’em to your students when you teach!!!

    Liked by 1 person

I want to hear your thoughts!

