Taking Time For Myself

Take care of yourself.

I can be very honest when I say that this is something that a rarely do. I get so caught up in my day to day life, that I never step back and do things to better myself. There is homework to be done, errands to run, appointments to make, and all other commitments that I make from day to day. Today is making me realize that I need to step back and make the time to take care of myself.

“It’s not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself, and to make your happiness a priority. It’s necessary.” – Mandy Hale

In order to take time for myself today, I set down my homework (which was really hard at this point in the semester), wandered around the university, and got tea with a lovely friend. There were so many things racing through my mind, that it took me a while to really feel present in the situation. Once these thoughts settled, I realized that I was so content. It was exactly what I needed. I came to the realization that throughout my four years of schooling, I only did things like this a handful of times. I now wish that I could go back and create more opportunities like this. I don’t want to look back and think of what I could have done, but rather, I came up with a list of ideas that I am going to try make a priority in my life:

  • Having a cup of tea
  • Painting my nails
  • Meeting up with a friend
  • Watching Netflix
  • Spending time with my family
  • Going for a walk
  • Do it yourself projects
  • Reading for enjoyment
  • Taking naps
  • Going to the lake
  • Trying new recipes

Whenever I am walking though the university I am always cautious of the things that are going on around me. I watch the people who are rushing through the halls, the people who are scrambling to finish an assignment, the people who are excited and joyful about life, the people who enthusiastically tell their friends stories, the people who wait in the extremely long Tim Hortons line to get coffee, and the people who are just enjoying the whole atmosphere of university. Today I was also watching to see if any people were taking time for themselves. I came to the conclusion that there are not many opportunities here at university for people to do this. The buildings are set up for people to take classes and to study. Yes, that is the purpose of a university, but isn’ there more to it? Should there not be an emphasis placed on the self care of the students attending this university? Overall, I really think a space directed to students taking care of themselves should be established in our school. The amount students, such as myself, would benefit from a safe, relaxing, and comfortable space would be outstanding.

“You owe yourself the love that you so freely give to other people.”

Take time for yourselves friends 🙂

– Ms. S

I want to hear your thoughts!

